Heibon 2

Oh hey, I just realized it’s Valentines. Happy Valentines day everyone~

Come join me at the Forever Alone village lol No chocolate but we got lots of anime waifus, husbandos and salt. Lots of salt (from tears or otherwise lololololol)


<< Previous | Directory | Next >>


I saw spirits.

The white-robed man who properly apologized to me is called Reyfaras Karhannah. 1

He seems to be a “High Mage” of this country.

He is a “High Mage.”

It’s important so I said it twice.

 

The white-robed mages with golden embroidery affixed were High Mages.

With only two amongst the mages in the country their magical talent is considered prodigious, and their social position would even allow them to offer their opinion to the King if it were concerning matters of magic 

In other words, Reyfaras-sama was a big shot.

After the High Mage the next color of embroidery was silver for the Middle Ranked Mages.

And for the mages with the least amount of status, the embroidery for the Low Ranked Mages was black.

Even though I said they had the lowest position, it seems that just by becoming mages in service to the crown they were targets of admiration for the country’s citizens.

 

Now then, the place I was currently at was a slightly removed annex of the building where the throne room was.

In a room of a place referred to as the Magic Villa where the magicians carried out their work, it was Reyfaras-sama’s office.

It’s already been an hour since I’ve been told to wait here for a while.

 

I had free time upon free time, so I decided to call out to the things I’ve seen ever since I came to this world.

 

『Hey, are you guys fairies or something?』

 

It’s not as if there was a person there.

Or actually, it’s not like I could ask someone if there was a “fairy” there.

The one I spoke to were the things that kept getting into my vision even if I didn’t want them to, the little things with a human-like figure with wings sprouting from their backs.

Red・Blue・Yellow・Green・Purple・Black・White, there were seven types with clothes and hair in each of their own respective colors and they always lingered in my field of vision.

The people around didn’t seem to pay them too much attention until now, but as expected they sparked my curiosity.

 

When I called out to the two small creatures? people? who had been frolicking, as if stunned they momentarily froze, and when I blinked they hid in the shadow of the bookshelf.

 

Oh my.

 

『Oーi, umm, I won’t do anything so can you come out?』

 

The ones who unexpectedly peeked out their faces from behind bookshelf were a red-haired and clothed pair.

 

『Hello. I’m Akidzuki Rio…Or, in this world it would be Rio Akidzuki maybe? Yoroshiku.』2

 

To my self-introduction the two looked at each other, then approached fluttering their wings.

 

『What exactly are you guys? …Tte, wai, what is it?』

 

Without responding to my question, the two touched my body peta peta filled with interest.

For the time being I let them do what they want, but before I knew it their number increased.

In addition to the two reds there were three green.

Furthermore there were one yellow and blue each.

 

Peta peta peta peta peta peta peta peta…………

 

『Ahh, jeez!! What is it!?』

 

「It’s because it’s rare for there to be a human who can see them.」

 

Just when I became fed up with the trouble and yelled out, Reyfaras-sama returned to the room.

 

Or rather,

 

『Humans who can see are rare…?』

 

「You can see them, can’t you? These guys.」

 

He lightly poked the blue that came up to him while asking so I nodded, and he nodded “as I thought” in return.

 

『Eh, you mean everyone can’t see them? That’s why they don’t especially touch them?』

 

「It’s because they can’t see that they don’t try to touch. In the extent of my knowledge, you are the second one who can see these guys. The first is me though.」

 

『Ah, um, Reyfaras-sama, what exactly are these guys?』

 

「………」

 

Even though I asked the most pressing question, for some reason Reyfaras-sama sunk into silence with a crease between his brows.

 

『Hello?』

 

「…Why are you using polite speech? The way you spoke from before was much more natural. 」

 

『Eh? Because Reyfaras-sama is a big shot aren’t you?』

 

「So what?」

 

『No, what do you mean “so what”… 』

 

「I saw you when you ranted about the King. Even if you decide to renew yourself by using polite speech now, on the contrary it feels unpleasant.」

 

『Unpleasant…』

 

He’s said a lot.

But well, if he says it’s ok to speak informally that way is easier so let’s do so.

 

『Umm, then I’ll take you up on your offer and speak casually, but what are they?』

 

「They’re “spirits.”」

 

『”Spirits”?』

 

「Ahh. …”Magic” is the phenomenon when people manifest the magic power they possess outside of their body, and to perform that the user’s mana, as well as their power of imagination is imperative. And so to make that imagination easier arias are often used, using that for the sake of better creating imagery for more specific spells, they would be able to restrain the mana cost until the activation of the spell. That is this world’s view of magic.」

 

『…Haa.』

 

「But in actuality, that’s wrong. The magic we use actually occurs when we pay compensation to the spirits using the mana housed within ourselves and borrow their power to bring forth the phenomena we wished for.」

 

『Hm? Hm? Hm? Umm… In other words…?』

 

「That is to say, let’s imagine that there’s a fireball here in my palm. However, no matter how much I imagine or gather mana to my palmtop, no matter how diligently I recite the aria, the fireball will never appear. Now here, I’ll transfer my mana to a fire attribute spirit and imagine a fireball in the same way. Once I do so,」

 

Two red spirits from Reyfaras-sama’s surroundings drew near and directed their tiny hands towards his palm.

As soon as they did, a fireball poofed into being in Reyfaras-sama’s hand.

In between the flow of that sequence, the two red spirits faintly shimmered.

Is that the mana that Reyfaras-sama mentioned?

 

「Have you understood?」

 

『Meaning, without these spirits then magic in this world would be impossible? But the people who know of this truth are few.』

 

「Rather than mostly, it’s only you and I who know of this.」

 

『Have you tried talking to everyone else about this?』

 

「I have. I did right when I became a High Mage. But no one believed me. Instead I was labeled as an eccentric and have come this far. 」

 

『They didn’t believe you, why?』

 

「Rather than believing in the spirits they’re unable to see, it’s sufficient for them to believe that everything was accomplished using their own power it seems.」

 

『I see. And? Why did you decide to speak to me about this subject that you’ve generally been denied on?』

 

「You can see these guys can’t you?」

 

『Just because of that?』

 

Having asked, Reyfaras-sama grinned at me.

Evil… Or it’s better to say, it’s a joyful smile from the bottom of his heart while having sinister thoughts.

 

「Why don’t we strike back at the people who’ve denied us?」

 

Without suiting that face, Reyfaras-sama unexpectedly seems to be a crooked character.

 

『Even before this “spirits” business, you must’ve been quite an eccentric Reyfaras-sama.』

 

「”Rey” is fine.」

 

『Then please refer to me as “Rio” as well. Yoroshiku, Rey-sama.』

 

「You don’t need the “sama” either though. Well, whatever. I’ll be in your care as well, Rio. The length you can stay at this castle is 20 days. In that time I’ll strictly teach you about this world and magic.」

 

『Staying for 20 days…』

 

Like this, I took my reassuring comrade’s hand into mine.

 


<< Previous | Directory | Next >>



  1.  レイファラス・カーハンナー Reifarasu Kaahannaa 
  2. I’m leaving Yoroshiku as is unless I absolutely need to translate it from now on. You can google if you don’t know what it means~ 

13 thoughts on “Heibon 2

  1. Thanks very much for the update 😀 even though I know what is coming from the other version Im happy to read it all again and appreciate it anew thanks again 🙂

    Happy valentines day (belated)

    Like

    1. Thank you~
      I’m trying harder to be more active (at least once a week) ;v;

      New year, new me.
      Well, more accurately new year minus a month ahahaha =u=;;;;;;;;

      I should find a new story tho
      Heibon only has 13 chaps so hopefully I run out soon ahaha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Is that so? I hope the ending is satisfactory xD It worries me that shorter stories get less closure with the endings. Thanks for all your hard work~ highly anticipating future release lol. > 3 > ) Though don’t harm your health in the process aha;;; Happy Valentine’s lolol~

        Like

  2. I’d be worried about thisguy’s hidden agenda, but she has no one else to learn about the world from. What else can she do but go for ut?

    Like

Leave a comment